PARENT
UnitedHealth
Footprint by state. Enrollment is CMS reported. Share and operations counts stay on the state page. A dollar amount is not on this page.
Share trend: 2017: 6,263,404; 2018: 6,420,953; 2019: 5,520,476; 2020: 6,989,447; 2021: 8,142,955; 2022: 8,979,593; 2023: 9,227,170; 2024: 7,548,573
| State | Plans | Programs | Latest CMS enrollment | MCPAR operations |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AZ | United Healthcare, United Healthcare (MLTSS), United Healthcare Plan, United Healthcare Plan, United Healthcare Plan (MLTSS), United Healthcare Plan (MLTSS), United Heathcare (MLTSS), UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealthcare (MLTSS) | not reported | 466,462 (2022); 8,440 (2022); 527,985 (2017); 516,445 (2018); 10,588 (2017); 8,709 (2018); 9,580 (2019); 409,465 (2024); 8,741 (2024) | not reported; 1,682 appeals resolved |
| CA | United Health Care- San Diego, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan/Sacramento, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan/San Diego | not reported | 30,763 (2022); 4,904 (2018); 24,133 (2021) | not reported |
| CO | RAE 1: Rocky Mountain Health Plans, RAE 1: Rocky Mountain Health Plans, RAE 1: Rocky Mountain Health Plans, Regional Accountable Entity (RAE) 1: Rocky Mountain Health Plans, Rocky Mountain Health Plans PRIME, Rocky Mountain Health Plans PRIME | not reported | 146,536 (2018); 176,495 (2021); 158,064 (2024); 185,683 (2022); 52,903 (2023); 34,166 (2024) | not reported; 1,030 appeals resolved |
| DC | UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of District of Columbia | not reported | 12,914 (2024) | 650 appeals resolved |
| DE | UnitedHealthcare Community Plan | not reported | 90,843 (2017) | not reported |
| FL | Care Improvement Plus South Central Insurance Company, Care Improvement Plus South Central Insurance Company, Preferred Care Network, Inc., Preferred Care Network, Inc., Preferred Care Partners, Inc., Preferred Care Partners, Inc., United Healthcare of FL, Inc., United Healthcare of FL, Inc., United Healthcare of Florida, United Healthcare of Florida, United Healthcare of Florida, Inc., United Healthcare of Florida, Inc., United Healthcare of Florida, Inc., UnitedHealthcare Dual Complete LP, UnitedHealthcare of Florida | not reported | 113,154 (2023); 104,764 (2024); 36,881 (2023); 11,984 (2024); 36,881 (2023); 20,398 (2024); 19,081 (2017); 19,069 (2018); 263,434 (2020); 371,682 (2022); 270,886 (2017); 260,672 (2018); 308,502 (2021); 31,940 (2024); 271,904 (2024) | not reported; 1 sanctions, 4,911 appeals resolved |
| HI | UnitedHealth ABD, UnitedHealth ABD, UnitedHealthcare CP Quest Integration (QI), UnitedHealthcare Community Plan (QI), UnitedHealthcare Community Plan QUEST, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan QUEST, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan QUEST Integration | not reported | 21,276 (2017); 20,669 (2018); 53,512 (2020); 58,324 (2021); 26,121 (2017); 27,699 (2018); 54,646 (2024) | not reported; 114 appeals resolved |
| IA | UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealthcare of the River Valley, Inc. | not reported | 384,188 (2018); 164,326 (2017) | not reported |
| ID | Idaho Behavioral Health Plan, Optum Idaho, United Healthcare/Optum Idaho, United Healthcare/Optum Idaho, UnitedHealthcare/Optum Idaho | not reported | 269,240 (2018); 290,463 (2017); 367,563 (2021); 378,435 (2022); 331,761 (2023) | not reported |
| IN | United Healthcare Community Plan, United Healthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan | not reported | 924 (2021); 5,240 (2022); 5,954 (2023); 5,584 (2024) | not reported; 11 sanctions, 275 appeals resolved |
| KS | United HealthCare Community Plan of Kansas, United HealthCare Community Plan of Kansas, United Healthcare Community Plan of Kansas, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Kansas | not reported | 124,562 (2018); 161,891 (2022); 137,722 (2017); 127,984 (2024) | not reported; 2 sanctions, 13,938 appeals resolved |
| KY | UHC, United Healhcare, UnitedHealthcare - Managed Care Organization | not reported | 79,751 (2022); 37,031 (2021); 81,613 (2024) | 12 sanctions, 10,843 appeals resolved; not reported |
| LA | UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan | not reported | 414,714 (2018); 28,380 (2024); 343,798 (2024) | not reported; 56 sanctions, 2,970 appeals resolved |
| MA | United Healthcare, United Healthcare, UnitedHealthcare | not reported | 23,626 (2022); 19,467 (2018); 23,589 (2024) | not reported; 5 sanctions, 1,317 appeals resolved |
| MD | United HealthCare, United Healthcare Community Plan, United Healthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare of the Mid-Atlantic | not reported | 149,565 (2018); 146,314 (2019); 150,667 (2020); 187,674 (2024); 175,402 (2021) | not reported; 4 sanctions, 1,251 appeals resolved |
| MI | UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan | not reported | 255,067 (2024); 79,443 (2020); 291,534 (2021) | 2 sanctions, 1,365 appeals resolved; not reported |
| MN | Medica, United HealthCare, UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealthcare of MN | not reported | 24 (2023); 31,506 (2022); 26 (2023); 37 (2024) | not reported; 8 sanctions, 846 appeals resolved |
| MO | United Healthcare Central, United Healthcare Central, United Healthcare Eastern, United Healthcare Eastern, United Healthcare Southwest, United Healthcare Southwest, United Healthcare Western, United Healthcare Western, UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealthcare Central, UnitedHealthcare Central, UnitedHealthcare Eastern, UnitedHealthcare Eastern, UnitedHealthcare Southwest, UnitedHealthcare Southwestern, UnitedHealthcare Western, UnitedHealthcare Western | not reported | 46,036 (2017); 48,376 (2018); 46,024 (2017); 51,016 (2018); 35,728 (2017); 30,946 (2018); 32,113 (2017); 37,865 (2018); 302,089 (2024); 55,314 (2020); 58,393 (2021); 55,985 (2020); 69,201 (2021); 31,582 (2020); 39,371 (2021); 42,338 (2020); 52,392 (2021) | not reported; 38 sanctions, 9,053 appeals resolved |
| MS | UnitedHealth Community College, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare of Mississippi, UnitedHealthcare of Mississippi Community Plan | not reported | 141,964 (2022); 182,511 (2021); 152,866 (2023); 186,115 (2024); 171,395 (2019); 209,339 (2018) | not reported; 3 sanctions, 1,228 appeals resolved |
| NC | UnitedHealthcare | not reported | 461,957 (2024) | 9 sanctions, 2,894 appeals resolved |
| NE | UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Nebraska, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Nebraska, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Nebraska | not reported | 81,334 (2017); 115,714 (2024); 132,319 (2023) | not reported; 3,905 appeals resolved |
| NJ | UHC Dual Complete, United Healthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Dual Complete ONE, UnitedHealthcare Dual Complete ONE (HMO SNP), UnitedHealthcare Dual Complete ONE ONE (HMO D-SNP), UnitedHealthcare Dual Complete ONE (HMO D-SNP), UnitedHealthcare Dual Complete ONE (HMO SNP) | not reported | 31,803 (2022); 383,031 (2022); 439,722 (2017); 275,064 (2024); 13,101 (2017); 19,158 (2018); 24,356 (2020); 28,007 (2021); 22,993 (2019) | not reported; 20 sanctions, 9,454 appeals resolved |
| NM | UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | not reported | 86,405 (2018); 41,784 (2024) | not reported |
| NV | Health Plan of Nevada, Health Plan of Nevada (HPN), Health Plan of Nevada (HPN), Health Plan of Nevada (HPN), United Healthcare Health Plan of Nevada, UnitedHealthcare Health Plan of Nevada | not reported | 301,149 (2021); 263,454 (2017); 248,830 (2019); 269,044 (2020); 226,365 (2022); 209,874 (2024) | not reported; 1 sanctions, 1,193 appeals resolved |
| NY | United HealthCare, United HealthCare, United HealthCare, United HealthCare, United HealthCare, United Healthcare, United Healthcare, United Healthcare, UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealthcare Dual Complete | not reported | 5,345 (2017); 0 (2022); 474,234 (2017); 6,813 (2018); 379,366 (2022); 9,766 (2019); 441,821 (2019); 9,897 (2020); 9,362 (2024); 0 (2024) | not reported; 16 sanctions, 4,427 appeals resolved |
| OH | United Healthcare Community Plan of Ohio, United Healthcare Community Plan of Ohio, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Ohio, Inc., UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Ohio, Inc. | not reported | 296,714 (2017); 9,519 (2017); 20,442 (2024); 297,276 (2024) | not reported; 34 sanctions, 4,344 appeals resolved |
| PA | United Healthcare Community Plan of Pennsylvania, United Healthcare Community Plan, Inc, United Healthcare Community Plan, Inc, United Healthcare Community Plan, Inc., United Healthcare Community Plan, Inc., UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, Inc. | not reported | 222,560 (2017); 237,812 (2020); 270,413 (2021); 124,822 (2023); 292,541 (2022); 95,611 (2024) | not reported; 1 sanctions, 937 appeals resolved |
| RI | United HealthCare of Rhode Island Community Plan, United HealthCare of Rhode Island Community Plan, UnitedHealthCare Dental of Rhode Island, UnitedHealthCare Dental of Rhode Island, UnitedHealthCare of Rhode Island Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Health Plan of Rhode Island, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Rhode Island, UnitedHealthcare Dental, UnitedHealthcare Dental of Rhode Island, UnitedHealthcare Dental of Rhode Island, UnitedHealthcare of Rhode Island Community Plan | not reported | 96,649 (2021); 99,040 (2022); 111,315 (2018); 113,240 (2019); 92,767 (2018); 7,497 (2017); 33,905 (2017); 104,666 (2017); 127,877 (2021); 132,957 (2024); 81,964 (2024) | not reported; 525 appeals resolved |
| TN | OptumRx, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan | not reported | 1,275,105 (2024); 429,505 (2024); 433,202 (2018) | not reported; 28 sanctions, 1,009 appeals resolved |
| TX | United Healthcare - Texas, United Healthcare - Texas, United Healthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company dba UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company dba UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company dba UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company, dba United Healthcare, UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company, dba United Healthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company, dba United Healthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company, dba UnitedHealthcare Community Plan | not reported | 115,686 (2017); 30,364 (2017); 130,759 (2017); 28,786 (2023); 23,086 (2024); 175,387 (2024); 29,222 (2022); 153,852 (2023); 30,015 (2019); 137,197 (2024) | not reported; 40 sanctions, 7,720 appeals resolved; 4 sanctions, 88 appeals resolved |
| UT | Optum Health, United Behavioral Health, United Behavioral Health | not reported | 94,718 (2019); 9,494 (2021); 15,678 (2024) | not reported; 8 appeals resolved |
| VA | InTotal, United, United Health Care, United Healthcare, United Healthcare of the Mid-Atlantic, UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealthcare of the Mid-Atlantic | not reported | 55,718 (2017); 103,563 (2019); 23,506 (2018); 39,431 (2022); 157,891 (2022); 65,465 (2024); 168,493 (2024) | not reported; 5 sanctions, 1,048 appeals resolved; 8 sanctions, 817 appeals resolved |
| WA | United Health Care, United Health Care, United Healthcare, UnitedHealthcare | not reported | 241,754 (2022); 201,693 (2018); 233,194 (2023); 22,234 (2024) | not reported; 5 sanctions, 2,099 appeals resolved |
| WI | United Healthcare Community Plan, United Healthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan | not reported | 235,855 (2022); 20,545 (2022); 18,955 (2020); 144,955 (2018); 200,145 (2024) | not reported; 1,434 appeals resolved |
Award history
- AZ YH24-0001 (upheld, 2023-12-01): awardee Arizona Physicians IPA, Inc. dba UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, rank 2, score 668.00
- GA 41900-DCH0000133 (protested, 2024-12-02): awardee UnitedHealthcare of Georgia, Inc.
- PA 12-15 (upheld, 2016-08-30): non awardee UnitedHealthcare of Pennsylvania, Inc., rank fourth in all five zones
- PA 31-22 (cancelled, 2024-08-21): non awardee UnitedHealthcare of Pennsylvania, Inc., rank not selected, score 868.41
- PA 12-15: protest by UnitedHealthcare of Pennsylvania, Inc., affirmed 2017-10-04
- PA 31-22: protest by UnitedHealthcare of Pennsylvania, Inc., reversed; award cancelled 2026-04-02
Timeline
- not reported